Refurbished Steering Wheel / Renoverad ratt

 

My Steering Wheel had a few very ugly cracks, about 3mm each, on the wheel, and the wheel looked quite worn after over 50 years, so something had toa be done. I got in contact with Per Jensen at Lallas in Sweden http://lallas.eu as they remould steering wheels so they become as good as new again. That sounded interesting but I was a bit doubtful about their process; using transparent plastic when remoulding the wheel and then paint it black.   Per said they where planning to start moulding with black plastic, so that the wheel i coloured black throughout. He suggested that they could test the process on my steering wheel if I wasn’t in a hurry to get it back quickly. I thought hat was a great idea and sent off the wheel to Per and Lalla so that I could have it back before the end of August when I was going back to England again.  Per called a few days before my departure and said that as this was the first steering wheel with this new process, and as there was a few imperfections from the moulding, it was a lot of work to remedy and polish  my steering wheel. He was however hopeful that they should be done after the weekend. After a couple of minutes Per called again to say that I shouldn’t be surprised that there will be no indentations for the thumbs when I get my wheel back.  Those come from wear and was never there when the car was new. Interesting, I had never thought about that.

After the weekend Per called again and said that the steering wheel was done and ready to be shipped. They had spent all in all well over 50 hours (!) to get a perfect finish on my steering wheel. When I got it, I was very pleased indeed, the end result was perfect (as one could see from the pictures below) and I couldn’t see where they had spent so much time. It just looked right and brand new. I’m always very impressed when people are prepared to take som much trouble to achieve a perfect end result, even if it results in a lot more work for them. It’s about being proud of one’s job, and that’s something to take care of!

img_1027img_1028

Min ratt hade ett par fula sprickor på rattkransen, ca 3mm stora och som löpte runt randkransen. Dessutom var ratten ganska medfaren och skulle se trött ut på bilen, så något måste göras. Jag fick kontakt med Per Jensen på Lallas utanför Karlskoga http://lallas.eu och han berättade att de gjuter om rattkransarna så att de blir som nya igen. Det lät intressant men jag var lite frågande inför att ratten skulle gjutas transparent och sedan lackas svart. Per berättade då att de planerade att börja gjuta i genomfärgad plast och erbjöd mig att min ratt kunde få bli försökskanin om jag kunde vara av med ratten under någon månad eller två. Det nappade jag förstås på, och ratten skickades till Per och Lalla så att den kunde bli klar under Augusti innan jag åkte tillbaka till England. Avresa dagen närmade sig när Pär ringde och berättade att eftersom det var första ratten med denna nya metod och eftersom det hade uppstått lite luftporer i gjutningen så var det massor av jobb att fylla dessa och polera. Han hoppades att de skulle blir klara under helgen som kom. Efter en liten stund ringde Per igen och sa att det kommer inte att vara några fördjupningar för tummarna på ratten. Det är många som saknar dem når de får tillbaka en omgjuten ratt, men de var inte där när den var ny utan har uppstått genom slitage.

Efter helgen ringde Per igen och berättade att de hann klart och var redo att posta ratten till mig. Det hade tagit dem över 50 timmars arbete med min ratt (!) för att få den perfekt. Jag kan bra hålla med. Ratten var verkligen jättefin när jag packade upp kartongen, som framgår av bilderna ovan. Jag är helnöjd. Jag kan inte se vad det är som de har jobbat med att få bort – utan allt ser perfekt ut. Det är imponerande tycker jag när folk är så noga och måna om ett perfekt slutresultat även om det innebär jättemycket mer jobb för dem. Det handlar om yrkesstolthet och det är något av vara rädd om! 

Leave a Reply

