Dashboard Part / Instrumentpanel 4 (4)

1. So, the Dashboard is now done. Almost. The backside looks as great as the front side, but I’m not yet happy with the lower alu panels.

As I’ve now decided to restore the car strictly to original (safe for the AC Alternator instead of the original DC Alternator) I will not be putting back the Indicator lamp for the Choke which was a great improvement by a previous owner. This means that there is one additional hole in the left hand panel. There is also a hole too much in the right hand panel which could have been covered by a “H” sticker (A sticker that all cars in Sweden had in 1967 when Sweden changed from driving on the left side of the road to the right side of the road) but it would still not 100%. So I’ll leave it like this for the time being and start hunting on eBay for new lower panels in perfect condition and with the right number of holes. Will probably take some time as I haven’t seen any during the year I have been looking so far…

IMG_6392

IMG_6395 IMG_6399IMG_6406

IMG_6402IMG_6388

1. Så nu är instrumentpanelen färdig. Nästan. Snyggt och fint på baksidan känns kul även om det kanske bara är jag som kommer att kolla där. Jag är dock inte nöjd med de under alu panelerna än. 

Eftersom jag bestämt mig för att restaurera till orginalskick (med undantag av Växelströmsgeneratorn) så kommer jag inte att sätta tillbaka varningslampan för Choke. Det var i och för sig var en utmärkt förbättring av en tidigare ägare, men inte original på en 66-a. Det betyder att det är ett hål för mycket i den vänstra panelen. Det är också ett hål för mycket på den högra panelen som nog kunde gått att dölja med ett “Högermärke” men det är ju inte 100%. Jag lämnar det så här för tillfället och börjar jaga nya paneler på eBay med rätt antal hål och i perfekt skick. Tar säkert en del tid. Jag har inte sett några under ett år som jag letat…

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

2. As for the final steps of the dashboard, I started with cutting off all the surplus padding and then fitted the instruments before folding over and fixing the end part of the larger alu panel. I also took the opportunity to change all the bulbs for the instrument lightning. The ashtray is as good as new when its back from electroplating.

IMG_6372 IMG_6373 IMG_6374 IMG_6375 IMG_6376 IMG_6377

IMG_6382

2. Beträffande de sista stegen på instrument panelen, så började jag med att skära bort överflödig stoppning för att därefter sätta dit instrumenten innan jag vek runt den stora aluminiumplåten och pop-nitade den i ändarna. Jag passade också på att byta alla glödlampor i instrument belysningen. 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

3. Finally about the infamous screw at the end of the dashboard that everyone seems to be struggling with as it can’t be reached with normal tools when the dashboard is fitted.  Those screws hasn’t been fitted on the dashboard from which the lower part of my dashboard comes as there are no holes. (I have bought a replacement lower part). I discovered that only after I had screwed the two parts together, so I decided to fix the two parts at the end with a clips instead.  Im sure a future owner looking to take of only the upper part of the dashboard at some point in the future will be very grateful.

Another little detail was the missing angled washer for fitting the handle in the curved part of the dashboard. I made one out of two surplus distance washer from the seat rails.

IMG_6385IMG_6378 IMG_6381

3. Slutligen ett par rader om den berömda skruvarna i ytterändarna av instrumentpanelen som håller samman övre och under delen av instrument panelen. Många har beskrivit hur den inte går att komma åt med normala verksty så att man kan ta av “locket” på instrument brädan utan att ta ut hela brädan.  Det konstiga på min underdel var att den saknade hål för dessa, så de kan aldrig ha funnits på den instrumentbrädan (jag bytte den undre delen till en annan eftersom min var för rostig). Jag upptäckte detta när jag redan hade skruvat ihop underdel och överdel, och bestämde mig istället för att sätta ihop underdel och överdel med en clips. Visade sig gå jättebra och jag är säker på att en framtida ägare som vill kunna ta bort bara locket på instrumentbrädan kommer att vara jätte tacksam.

En annan liten detalj är en lutande bricka som behövs på baksidan för att dra fast kurv handtaget på passagerar sidan. Denna bricka fattades och jag gjorde istället en ny med hjälp av två distansbrickor från stols skenorna. 

2 thoughts on “Dashboard Part / Instrumentpanel 4 (4)

Leave a Reply

