Ready to go for welding work / Klar att köras iväg för rostlagning

I have spent a few weeks stripping the car out inside and outside to make it as easy as possible for the workshop to do welding works. After working around the clock in my garage to Monday morning the car was collected at 08.30 a.m. I have ordered the body panels needed from Brookhouse Volvo and loaded them separately in my car.

When I get the Volvo back in a few weeks a lot has been done. First the structural side of the project with welding works to be done by Trickett Welding in Poole and then off to the body shop to be stripped to bare metal and re sprayed. In the mean time a lot will have to be done in my garage. I need to decide for all parts I’ve taken off whether to clean them, send them off for powder coating, sandblasting/soda blasting or galvanising, or to replace them.

I will also post some pictures from the stripping out phase and what I found.

IMG_4554IMG_4553  IMG_4565photo

Jag har ägnat några veckor åt att strippa bilen ut och invändigt så att det blir så smidigt som möjligt på verkstaden som ska rostlaga karossen. Efter att ha skrapat färg på insidan hela söndagen och natten till Måndag blev jag tillslut färdig och bilen hämtades kl. 08.30. Jag lastade kaross plåtar som jag beställt av Brookhouse Volvo i min bil och körde efter.

När jag tillbaka P1800-an om några veckor har det hänt mycket. Först ska den till Trickett Welding i Poole för att rostlagas i chassiet och sedan ska den till en billackerare för färgborttagning, tennspackling och ny lack.

 Under tiden är det mycket att göra hemma i garaget. Jag behöver bestämma för alla detaljer och delar jag tagit bort om ska rengöra, polera, skicka iväg dem på blästring, pulverlackering, förzinkning, förkromning eller byta ut till ny originaldel.

 Jag kommer också att göra några blogg posts från strippningen och saker jag hittade.

Leave a Reply

